Hugo Award Winners 2010

Posted Monday September 6, 2010 by John Gunders in |

The Hugo Awards were announced last night at Aussiecon 4 in Melbourne. This year a tie for best novel, which means I have to buy two new books for my growing collection of Hugo and Nebula winners.

Also, Russell T Davies bows out of Doctor Who with a win for “Waters of Mars.”

Best Novel: TIE: The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK); The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)
Best Novella: “Palimpsest”, Charles Stross (Wireless; Ace, Orbit)
Best Novelette: “The Island”, Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2; Eos)
Best Short Story: “Bridesicle”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 1/09)
Best Related Book: This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is “I”), Jack Vance (Subterranean)
Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm Written by Kaja and Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form: Moon Screenplay by Nathan Parker; Story by Duncan Jones; Directed by Duncan Jones (Liberty Films)
Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars” Written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; Directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales)
Best Editor Long Form: Patrick Nielsen Hayden
Best Editor Short Form: Ellen Datlow
Best Professional Artist: Shaun Tan
Best Semiprozine: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & Cheryl Morgan
Best Fan Writer: Frederik Pohl
Best Fanzine: StarShipSofa edited by Tony C. Smith
Best Fan Artist: Brad W. Foster
John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines): Seanan McGuire

Your Comments

  1. Matthew Smith writes:

    Posted: 6 09 2010 - 11:36 | Permanent link to this comment

  2. Matthew Smith writes:

    Posted: 6 09 2010 - 11:47 | Permanent link to this comment

Commenting is closed for this article.