Nebula Awards 2008

Posted Sunday April 26, 2009 by John Gunders in |

The Nebula Awards were announced in LA today, with the major award going to Ursula Le Guin, her fourth Nebula, after Left Hand of Darkness (1969), The Dispossessed (1974), and Tehanu (1990).

The Nebula shortlists are selected from nominations from members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, who also vote for the winning entries. The full list of winners is:

Best Novel: Powers – Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt)

Best Novella: “The Spacetime Pool” – Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar08)

Best Novelette: “Pride and Prometheus” – John Kessel (F&SF, Jan08)

Best Short Story: “Trophy Wives” – Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Martin H. Greenberg and Kerrie Hughes

Best Script: WALL-E Screenplay – Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

Andre Norton Award (for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy): Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) – Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt)

M.J. Engh — Author Emerita (for contributions to the field)
Harry Harrison — Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master (for lifetime achievement)
Joss Whedon — Ray Bradbury Award (for excellence in screenwriting)

Solstice Awards (for authors who have had a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape)
A. J. Budrys, Marty Greenberg, and Kate Wilhelm

Your Comments

Commenting is closed for this article.